CANTON, GA (November 7, 2023) – The City of Canton municipal elections concluded this evening with in person voting following a period of early and advanced voting options. The elections were conducted by the Cherokee County Board of Elections.


In the race for Mayor, Bill Grant defeated Andy Tubbs. Grant received 1,759 votes (57.5%) compared to Tubbs, who tallied 1,298 votes (42.5%).


In the race to succeed Ms. JoEllen WIlson as Ward 1 Councilor, Mr. Travis Johnson ran unopposed.

Mr. Shawn Tolan ran unopposed to be re-elected for the four-year term for his City Council Ward 2 seat.

In the race to succeed Ms. Brooke Schmidt as Ward 3 Councilor, Farris Yawn defeated Tracye Busbee. Yawn received 1,411 votes (50.3%) compared to Busbee, who collected 1,392 votes (49.7%).

The winners of these four races will be sworn in for four-year terms at the January 4, 2024 Council Meeting.


In the special election to complete the unexpired term of Mr. Will Carlan, there were three candidates. Bryan Roach won the election by gaining a majority of the votes. The final tally was Roach with 1,766 votes (64%) compared to Sammy Baker with 429 votes (15.5%) and Luke Smith with 564 votes (20.5%). The winner will be publicly sworn in at the November 16, 2023 City Council Meeting.

All election results from today will be certified no later than Tuesday, November 14, 2023, by the Cherokee County Board of Elections.




You May Also Like…

Season of Giving Food Pantry Opens in Acworth

CRPA Wildlife Management at Blanket’s Creek Park

Remember, Honor, Teach

Holiday Lights at Veterans Park 2023

Christmas at Reinhardt