CANTON, GA (October 30, 2023) – Cherokee County E-911, in partnership with the Georgia Emergency Communications Authority (GECA), has launched a Logan’s Law database on its website.

Logan’s Law

The Logan’s Law database gives E-911 dispatchers information to share with law enforcement and public safety personnel regarding any individuals in the home who have special needs.

“This is a great tool allowing first responders to have more information when answering a call for service,” said Cherokee E-911 Director Shane Bonebrake. “If you have a loved one with special needs, please consider adding the information to our Logan’s Law database. We want to provide all the resources possible to ensure everyone who calls 911 gets the help they need.”

Logan’s Law passed in the 2023 General Assembly and was signed into law this summer. It is named for an 18-year-old girl with autism and other special needs.

Adding information to Cherokee’s Logan’s Law database will give residents the ability to note any special medical conditions at a particular address.

“If a resident reacts to loud sirens or flashing lights or maybe they are non-verbal, the 911 dispatcher can provide that crucial information to those responding to the call,” Bonebrake said. “The Logan’s Law database will add to our existing programs in place to aid those in our community who need additional assistance.”

The form is available at Residents can print the form from the website and return it to the E-911 Center via email, fax or U.S. Mail, or the form can be submitted online.

About Cherokee County E-911

Created in 1985, Cherokee County E-911 answers approximately 980 calls for service daily, totaling over 358,000 calls for service annually. Cherokee County E-911 is Primary Public Safety Answering Point, also known as a PSAP, for all law enforcement, fire rescue, emergency medical services (EMS), and emergency management in Cherokee County, Georgia.

The center processes and dispatches calls for Cherokee County Fire and Emergency Services, Woodstock Fire Department, Cherokee Sheriff’s Office, Cherokee Marshal’s Office, Cherokee County Animal Control, Woodstock Police, Canton Police, Holly Springs Police, and Ball Ground Police. The center also take calls for numerous county government agencies as well as taking calls and referring them to the proper outside agencies.

All Cherokee County E-911 Communications Officers are State of Georgia Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) Council​ certified as well as National Academy of Emergency Medical Dispatch (NAEMD) Emergency Medical Dispatchers (EMD) with American Heart Association BLS Provider CPR certifications. This allows the Communications Officers to provide critical, life-saving care when citizens need it most.

Cherokee County, Georgia 911 Communications Logo



You May Also Like…

E-911 Earns APCO International Certification

Salute to Local Heroes

Season of Giving Food Pantry Opens in Acworth

Leadership Cherokee Class of 2023 Graduates

Top 10 in 10 Young Professionals to Watch 2023